Doctor Who and the Two-Faced Coin

Posted: March 29, 2011 in fandom, Television
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Back in February I went to the Doctor Who convention here in Los Angeles.  The main selling point this year for me was the fact that The Fifth Doctor [Peter Davison] would be appearing.  I’ve been watching Doctor Who since I was 12 or so, and he’s always been my favorite but I’d never met him.  The foremost objective of the day:  get my picture with him.

This was to be relatively easy, as there were scheduled photo ops throughout the weekend.  As I sat in line, dressed as his character from 30 years ago, I worked out how pitch my photo idea to him.  Then it happened.  This was clearly a “step up, smile, *flash*, move along” situation so I didn’t have much time to explain.  I approached him, shook his hand and said, “I think it would be funny if we were back to back, and I looked really super-excited while you looked scared/angry or miserable.”

We took the shot, I shook his hand again and moved along.  Probably 20 seconds with him, but this is the result:

 

I like it.  A lot.

So much so, that I saw some potential here.

I don’t know how many of you Doctor Who fans read the Target Novelizations of the episodes back in they day, but my friend Bob and I collected the heck out of those things.  We each had over a hundred at one point (although Bob had considerably more).  I found my next challenge…to turn this picture into the Target Book cover of my OWN Fifth Doctor Adventure!

Here is THAT result:

 

I like it.  A lot.

 

This is what I do with my time,

Kev

Leave a Reply

