It has been a crazy couple of months.  Between work being out of control and my extracurricular activities I haven’t had a chance to write much.

Sorry.  Let’s break the last couple few weeks into categories.

COMEDY

Starting with some fun!  I played with IN RARE FORM a couple of Wednesdays ago at The Comedy Store and we had a BLAST!

Backstage - waiting to go on at The Comedy Store

We had a twenty minute slot and it just FLEW by.  Genuinely funny stuff coming from my colleagues combined with the hot crowd made it my favorite night at The Store yet.  And then to make that week even better, Julia and I were officially offered the positions in the group.  We had been tested and approved!  We got added to the cast page and everything (click on the headshots for bios):  http://www.inrareformcomedy.com/castpage/

AND I finally got to put my headshot up on the wall at the LA Connection Theater.  I’m pretty happy with it (by the way, Lander looks like he’s twelve years old.  Twelve.)

We go on 10:30pm every Friday at the LA Connection Theater in Sherman Oaks, CA.  Drop me a line and I can likely get you in free!

13442 Ventura Boulevard
Sherman Oaks, CA 91423

Apart from every Friday night we do special shows across town including a show in Santa Monica on the 24th.  Keep checking http://www.inrareformcomedy.com/ for details, and you can also check us out on Facebook at:

http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=102353282360&v=info !

All right, enough whoring.

NERD

The Doctor Who convention was WEEKS ago!

I met Frazier Hines (who played Jamie McCrimmon):

I also met John Levene (who played Sgt. Benton – and who I hope to have a bigger and better story of in the future):


I got a classic Doctor/Companion shot in front of the TARDIS with Ms. Athena Stamos:

I got a great Eleven/Ten shot with Mr. Kevin Coppa:

And finally, I found out that Cybermen REALLY just need a hug:

SPEAKING OF DOCTOR WHO

So… I’ve seen the first episode of the Eleventh Doctor, appropriately titled “The Eleventh Hour”.

First things first:  Matt Smith totally gets it.  I remember when he was first cast as my hero and was pretty pissed off.  Now, while I’d still prefer to see somebody older in the role, I feel the character is totally safe in his hands.  There’s something about his nervous energy. 

Now the show itself:  It is skewing very young.  It is becoming clearer and clearer that Doctor Who will never be the badass “Battlestar Galactica” that I want it to be.  It is proving to be a show for young adults with maybe a few references to keep the adults awake.  So taking it for what it IS, and after watching it three times, it definitely has that magical feel. 

But I don’t WANNA’ take it for what it is!  I want it to be more grown up.  I watched five minutes of The Beast Below and it seems centered around some damn seven year old kids again.  Come on, Moffat!

I understand that the first episode of the new era needed to be “safe”.  Introducing a new Doctor needs to be done carefully.  Now let’s turn up the heat.

KEV’S LOVE LIFE

It’s ridiculous and pathetic.  We’re not even going to talk about it.

EASTER

I went on a hike with some friends to the Hollywood sign.  It was fun, but when you are SO close to the sign itself and the only thing separating you from it is a fence, steep decline, and a sign telling me to be good… could I really help myself?

BIRTHDAY

It was my birthday Saturday!  How did I spend it?  Well, I spent NINE HOURS at work (9am-6pm).  It was so much busier than it was supposed to be.  Pretty lousy, to be honest.  But then my friend Vita swooped in and saved me!  As a birthday treat she brought me to a private screening of Kick Ass, which opens on Friday.  The movie was fun enough, but just being at a screening like that seems like you are “in” on something and makes you feel pretty cool.  Afterwards we went to the Veggie Grill on Sunset and I got my FREE birthday entree (went with the Cajun “chicken” – sooo goooooood).

And that’s where we stand.  Saturday night we’re throwing a birthday party at the house for Rick and I.  It should be a blast!

Who Da Man?  (never saying that again),

Kev

Comments
  1. Kelly Kittridge says:

    Pretty cool, Kev… Someday I would like to make the hike up to the Hollywood sign in the sky! Pics were awesome! Happy Birthday! Love, Uncle Kelly

Leave a Reply

