Oh, My Good Heavens

Posted: February 13, 2010 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

There is a world that many do not know about.

Yeah. We rocked it. (Thanks Sarah for the pic that I stole from your Facebook!)

There are probably hundreds, to be honest.  But this world in particular revolves around fandom.  Nerd fandom.  Specifically:  Doctor Who fandom.  And even MORE specifically:  The Doctor Who Cosplay Community.

Here’s an example of what I’m talking about.  This guy obviously went through great effort to make sure every detail is as close to perfect as can be.

http://fifthdoctorcostume.blogspot.com/

(I chose his work on the Fifth Doctor’s costume because he’s my favorite Doctor, but he has done more excellent work on other wardrobe that is linked to on the page).

Let me put it out there:  there is no question that I am a nerd / a geek / a whateveryouwannacallit.  I’ve been watching Doctor Who since I was 13 and even started with Star Trek before that.  I’ve gone to school dressed as Doctor Who.  Not often (hey – I got beat up enough as it was WITHOUT drawing attention to myself), but when my friend Chad let me borrow the replica of the Fourth Doctor’s scarf that his mother knitted for him there was no stopping me from going at least once.  To be honest, I’ve got a brilliant copy of the Fifth Doctor’s sweater that I have ALMOST worn to work a couple of times in the last couple of months.

It is quite clear to me that if I had unlimited resources I would have a replica of the costumes for each Doctor (1 through 11) in my closet  – and they wouldn’t be gathering cobwebs.  The only thing preventing me from diving headfirst into this world is funding.

Somebody with NO hinderances on the path of the Cosplayer is a man by the name of Bob Mitsch.

The Fourth Doctor (Bob Mitsch) shares a Jelly Baby with the Tenth Doctor (yours truly).

The above is my favorite picture with Bob Mitsch.  Four and Ten in front of the TARDIS sharing Jelly Babies – tough to beat.  Mitsch is one of those guys who wants things to be as perfect as possible when it comes to Doctor Who costuming.  Two small examples:

1) I was at Bob’s place a couple of months ago.  On his kitchen table was 8 to 10 pieces of fabric in different shades of beige.  Bob already had an amazing 5th Doctor jacket that I was PROUD to wear to Comic Con and two Doctor Who conventions. However, the shade of beige just wasn’t right in Mitsch’s eyes.

2) The Fifth Doctor wears white running shoes.  I had a pair of white Converse as part of the costume.  Bob called me just before one of the conventions saying that he was about to purchase a pair of white shoes that were more accurate.  I asked him if they were leather [I’m a vegetarian and am not interested in wearing leather].  He confirmed that they were in fact, made out of murdered animals.  I told him I wasn’t going to wear them.  He tried convincing me but I wasn’t interested.  The thing is, we’re talking about one pair of white tennis shoes looking… how much better than another pair of white tennis shoes?  There just couldn’t be enough of a difference to warrant me tossing my morals to the side for this.  When it settled in to Bob that I simply wasn’t going to wear the shoes he had picked out, I could hear the perfect combination of disappointment and fury in his voice.  It’s the tone of his voice which made me tell this story.  Obviously you can’t hear said tone, but I imagine it is the tone one’s voice has when they are told they are adopted.

(Just so you all know – I will be wearing leather boots when I portray the 11th Doctor at this year’s Gallifrey One convention as I have no suitable substitute to counter Bob with: +2 Mitsch)

So that’s Bob.  A guy who makes Doctor Who costumes strictly for the enjoyment of doing it.  He takes pride in his work.  He’ll put a costume together and it’ll look fantastic, but the thing is they are never good enough for him.  I’ll point out just how awesome something is but he’ll find twelve different things wrong with it that no reasonable person would worry about.  Bob is his own harshest critic.

SCRATCH THAT LAST PART!

There is some dude out there…

This is so ridiculous to write… but it’s true.

There is a guy out there who has taken GREAT offense at Bob’s craftwork.

To the point where he WROTE A BLOG CUSSING HIM OUT.

Extract (my comments in blue):

I have noticed a disturbing trend on Doctor Who message boards especially amongst the Cosplayers, (that sad and lonely but generally harmless subset of fandom), that whenever anyone asks a question regarding costumes, one gurning idiot appears as if by magic.

Fair enough, guy.  If you are going to discuss anything other than minute differences in Doctor Who costumes then at least you aren’t a hypocrite.

This idiot goes by the online name of ‘Timelord25’ or ‘Manofsteel25’ but his parents know him as ‘Bob’. Like the Candyman, he materialises dressed in an appalling caricature of Tom Baker’s season 12 outfit gurning like a simpleton to offer his definitive and authoritative advice on all matters concerning Who costumes.

Uh… so Cosplayers are “(that sad and lonely but generally harmless subset of fandom)”, but ONLY if they don’t pay enough attention to get every single detail right?  Well at least you seem to be civil.

Nothing wrong in that, if this cocksicle actually possessed even a modicum of observational ability. Sadly, he doesn’t. However, undeterred by this fundamental handicap he enthusiastically bluffs, blunders and stumbles his way through the finer points of Doctor Who sartoria with all the finesse of Stevie Wonder in a knocking shop. Anyway, Mr Bob Mitsch has teamed up with a character we all know and love, Mr Daniel Pawlik aka ‘Risu’ to produce Tom Baker’s Season 12 neckerchief  with what he can say with “certainty that it’s at least 90% accurate to the real thing.”

OK, well, scratch that last bit!  I didn’t realize how crass people who make costumes of science fiction shows can be.  Please continue.

…they look NOTHING alike. The base colour is wrong for a start. Pattern is utterly wrong and the stripe colour is like nothing I’ve seen. How it can be “90% accurate” is anyone’s guess. Obviously Mr Mitsch’s mathematically ability surpasses his observational ability.”

Again – this is a guy FURIOUS that Bob thinks he has done a pretty good job on a Doctor Who costume.  To the point that he has written a blog about it.  He sat down and HAD to cuss Bob out for having the audacity to be proud of his hobby.

Blind leading the blind? Blind and dumb leading blind and dumber.

Holy Shit!  Third grade called and wanted its advanced name-calling capability back.

In the very near future I shall be expanding into costumes and for the first time ever I shall make museum quality, accurate costume pieces available to you all. Judging from the mess above, it can’t come a moment too soon…

OK, I see now.  The guy is going into business for himself.  He is going to make costumes and sell them for profit.  

I hate to belittle the point, but Mitsch does this not for profit, but because it is FUN for him – and me – and everybody who suits up in a Mitsch costume and frankly 98 percent of the fans who see us in them.

So on behalf of myself (and myself alone) I say to you:

You can gargle my fuckin’ balls.  Nah, I’m not civil, but I didn’t start this twatfight.

Let’s let the Doctor Who community decide if Mitsch’s work is worth putting the effort into:

NERD FIGHT!

Kev

Comments
  1. Johanna Mead says:

    Having just been made physically ill by CT’s post, I’m glad to see someone sticking up for DW cosplayers in general and Bob in particular. Good on you!

    (Granted, I have a certain bias, being a cosplayer, myself!)

Leave a Reply

