This is The Doctor

Posted: May 28, 2009 in Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

11docs

In order:  William Hartnell, Patrick Troughton, Jon Pertwee, Tom Baker, Peter Davison (my favorite!), Colin Baker, Sylvester McCoy, Paul McGann, Christopher Eccleston, David Tennant (current – ends likely on New Year’s Day), and Matt Smith (the new guy).

I got into Doctor Who when I was about 13 years old.  The Doctor travels through time and space fighting evil – what a guy!  His spaceship is called the TARDIS.  It looks like an old Police Box from Great Britain in the ’60s, but that was just a disguise to blend in to it’s surroundings.  Unfortunately for The Doctor, the TARDIS’s chameleon circuit got jammed on a trip to the UK so it’s stuck looking like a Police Box.  Inside, the TARDIS is HUGE!  Some say it’s infinite.

Outside:

GoodTARDIS

 

Inside: (this varied greatly during Doctor Who’s tenure – I am choosing my classic 5th Doctor refurbished design):

oldConsole

I think the TARDIS is just as an important reason that I got into Doctor Who as The Doctor himself.  It is a dream of mine that I will one day own one…one day.

Doctor Who aired from the ’60s to the late ’80s and sputtered out in 1989 with ridiculous monsters seemingly made of cardboard and bubble wrap with a healthy dose of tin foil.  And sometimes there were boobs.

peri

It was goofy at times, but I really cared about the character of The Doctor and what he was up to.  After being put on indefinite hiatus, the show had an attempted restart in 1996 when FOX in the United States decided to make a TV movie.  If the movie did well, they would make a new series.  Despite a great Eighth Doctor in Paul McGann and more money being pumped into the show than ever before, not enought people watched it and the fans had to wait.

In 2005 Doctor Who came back!  While very happy to see my favorite cosmic MD in action, longtime fans noticed a couple of changes.  First of all, it is very clear that serious money has been pumped into the show.  Second, the show made a concerted effort to appeal to younger viewers.  Now there are many people who say that Doctor Who is and always has been a children’s show.  Perhaps they are right.  However, whereas I was a kid watching it and loving it while growing up, I am now a man.  I really wish they had made it a more bad-ass version of Doctor Who like they did with Battlestar Galactica.  I don’t think that’s ever going to happen.  That being said, there are some pretty solid episodes done in the last four years, and with Stephen Moffat in charge of the show next year I am very optimistic for it’s future.

EVEN THOUGH – the new Doctor is a kid.

matt

This is some of that marketing to kids stuff I was referring to earlier… but I have faith in the vision and writing of Mr. Stephen Moffat.

And that’s where we are with THAT!

Comments
  1. jshady says:

    Dude, if I’d have known there were boobs in “Doctor Who” I would’ve watched a long time ago.

    Welcome to the blog world, sucka!

    Shady

Leave a Reply

